This site is supported by Nobility Studios.

Help: Difficult passages

13 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello everyone,

I created this topic to discuss some short philosophical passages that prove especially difficult to interpret. I propose to narrow the discussion down to writings of contemporary analytic philosophers.

The first quote I am stuck on is this:

"I cannot think of a possibly lifeless universe without making it the object of my thought, but I do not thereby think of it as an object of my thought and thus suppose myself to be one of its inhabitants."

(M. J. Inwood, Husserl, Oxford Companion to Philosophy)

Could someone spell out what the author could possibly mean by these words? I am not a beginner in philosophy still I'm unable to interpret it properly.

Posted

I could be wrong but this seems to be discussing the problem of presupposing life when talking about a lifeless universe. The more typical example is of course the question "why is there something rather than nothing?", to which the response is often that nothing cannot be and hence the question is meaningless (or perhaps improper or misguided rather than meaningless, since we seem to know what we mean). I read your instance as another form of this difficulty: can we ask what a lifeless universe would be like because only living things experience the sense of "what things are like"? Inwood apparently rejects this charge of self-reference and thinks such discussion can indeed be meaningful, but I haven't read him so without more context I'm just guessing.

Posted

I think it might be a possible interpretation but in this context this is just an example of an important distinction between "making something my intentional object by conceiving it and conceiving it as my intentional object" (ibid).