This site is supported by Nobility Studios.

Do I belong here?

15 posts in this topic

Posted

I have been hanging around here for a while because the users seem to be at least as intelligent as I am and very well mannered about discussing differing opinions. My problem is that I have no background in discussing philosophies; my background involves sorting through fallacies and misinformation to find gems of knowledge, or at least useful conclusions. My colleagues in this forum seem more dedicated to just juggling the concepts without looking for any conclusion or identifying whether one concept is more important than another.

In other forums I have often remarked that "We gather here to drink our punch together, but some of the members seem to be dedicated to the proposition that every punch bowl must be shat into." In The Academy I often feel like I am that member that I complain about.

What do you think?

Posted

I have been hanging around here for a while because the users seem to be at least as intelligent as I am and very well mannered about discussing differing opinions. My problem is that I have no background in discussing philosophies; my background involves sorting through fallacies and misinformation to find gems of knowledge, or at least useful conclusions. My colleagues in this forum seem more dedicated to just juggling the concepts without looking for any conclusion or identifying whether one concept is more important than another.

In other forums I have often remarked that "We gather here to drink our punch together, but some of the members seem to be dedicated to the proposition that every punch bowl must be shat into." In The Academy I often feel like I am that member that I complain about.

What do you think?

You don't need a background in philosophy to post here. All you need is to participate in a spirit of honest inquiry, which, so far as I am aware, you do.

Don't be so hard on yourself! Sheesh! :)

1 person likes this

Posted