This site is supported by Nobility Studios.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

The Economic Crisis 101

Question

Posted

I am not an expert, and I appreciate that the understanding of any economy is essentially ideological in perspective. With that said, I thought this short piece would help some people understand the present economic situation and offer room for their own further investigation. It's like a short piece answering the question: "Why is their a crisis?" and for this reason, I thought it best to put this in the "Ask the Librarian" section rather than the political. If that is an error, please accept my apologies and do with this post as is fitting.

In the late 1990s, the economy expanded thanks to the Internet and high tech boom. Investors made money which led others to float new company stock. Prices went up until they reached unrealistic levels and the market crashed. To address the crisis, interest rates were lowered. This made it cheaper to borrow money and help pay off debts. Because money was cheaper to borrow, people started buying things. Houses were popular purchases, because it is not the cost of a home that is as important, as how much must be paid on it each month. House prices rose while mortgage loans became easier.

In the late 1990s and early 2000s, across the USA and the EU, you could buy a house for up to 10% down and sometimes less. You didn't need a million €s to buy a million € house, just a €100,000, and many banks let you borrow that. People started making fortunes overnight as they bought and sold houses for a profit, some before they were even built. Home prices shot up and, because the house I'm living in is worth more, why not take out another loan and buy a new car, holiday, fix up my kitchen? The future buyer of my house will eventually pay off that loan when I sell! It's like free money.