This site is supported by Nobility Studios.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

"Seeing" and Photography

5 posts in this topic

Posted

There is one disease that is an occupational hazard to a photographer. We learn to see everything, but forget how to appreciate the things we see.

This post is an introduction to what seeing is all about.

A lot of people ask me, "What can I shoot? There's nothing around that's interesting."

But there are actually millions of things around all of us that are casually miss in the day to day activities of just taking care of business. The following images are all, without exception, the things that we miss. They can be found anywhere, at any time. By no means am I claiming that these are award winning photo's, but they are part and parcel of the environment I live in. SO how do I make them interesting?

As a photographer, I generally use the guides of composition (Often called "rules" of composition) to make the viewer see what I want them to see. These guides are made to be broken, but they usually work quite well. Do not center the main subject. Put more empty space in the direction the subject is facing, and there are many more.

So enjoy the humdrum... :)

CASUAL14.JPG

CASUAL15.JPG

CASUAL16.JPG

In these two images, we see the dramatic difference a tiny crop can make in an image.

CASUAL18.JPG

CASUAL19.JPG

CASUAL24.JPG

CASUAL3.JPG

CASUAL30.JPG

CASUAL31.JPG

In these last two images, I used Depth of Field to change the way we see these fence posts. The larger the aperture (the smaller the number), the less of the scene is in focus, the smaller the aperture, the greater the focus depth. Some startling results can be obtained by being able to manually control this process.

CASUAL35a.JPG

CASUAL35b.JPG

So, what I'm trying to demonstrate in the above is just how much we miss. All of the above photographs were taken within a block from my home. And they are just a small sample of what can be "seen" if we only look.