This site is supported by Nobility Studios.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Gaining Weight and Strength Training

14 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I started lifting 2 months ago, inspired mostly by wanting to gain weight, and a couple of my friends showed some interest in starting weight lifting.

September 6, naked, empty stomach, I stepped onto a scale, 115 lbs. I'm 5' 10''. It's frustrating being skinny, especially when even your 9 year old niece laughs at your arms for being so small, strangers have joked about my size, I've had people laugh at me when I took my shirt off, literally point at my midsection and note how skinny I am. I don't think people realize skinny people feel just as insecure about their weight as overweight people. One of my friends who is lifting with me expressed the same things when I talked about it to him. He thought he was the only one that felt bad for being small.

After reading a little, I started out with Mark Rippetoe's 'Starting Strength' program and read some of his book. I did that for a month, but as I read more, I wanted to do something else.

Right now I'm doing ABA/BAB week 1/week 2. 5x5 for each exercise, with progressively heavier sets. So for example yesterday on the bench I did a set of 45, 65, 85, 105, and 115 (yes I know that's incredibly weak, but I started with 80 lbs on the bench in September as my max working set of 5).

workout A:

- deadlift

- military press

- bent-over rows

workout B:

- squat

- bench press

- 3x pullups to failure

I enjoy this routine, so I'll stick with it for a while, then move onto something more advanced.

In October, I injured my non-dominant rotator cuff slightly from doing the bench press poorly (my grip was too wide, I wasn't pulling the bar out of rack with my lats, and in general my shoulders are weak). My deadlift and squat form still feels a bit awkward 2 months later. I don't have a coach, just relying on the internet.