This site is supported by Nobility Studios.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Merchants of Doubt

18 posts in this topic

Posted

After a small debate in chat with davidm and Nullifidian about the politics of global warming, davidm recommended a book to me called Merchants of Doubt. I have a Kindle now so I can pretty much download books like this right away and start reading. I've only started reading this, so I thought I would use this thread a forum to express some of my concerns.

Just as I debate some of you guys in chat, I am at the same time self-critical. My poor performance in chat is due to lack of knowledge on many of the details. But it is important to understand, to some extent, where you guys are coming from, and to understand where my beliefs are coming from. I'm not a climate scientist, but like most Americans, I understand cynicism. I suppose a lot my doubts come from my feeling of powerlessness in the face of cynicism. So as a good example of this, let me relate my thoughts even after reading just a few pages of this book.

First, what I mean by cynicism should be obvious from the context of the book. Merchants of Doubt is a book about lobbyists and think tanks that use various tactics to undermines what the author deems good science. So far, examples are the cancer causing properties of tobacco use, the risks and limitations of SDI (I don't know what this is), acid rain, the ozone hole, and the main subject, global warming.

What bothers me most at this point is this excerpt: