This site is supported by Nobility Studios.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

one step at a time

1 post in this topic

Posted

One of my friends learning English said he made a mistake reading English novels that were too difficult. He didn't get anything out of it and it was a waste of time. I can relate to this. >__<

Not just in language learning, but I remember a long time ago I wanted to learn python, and there was that one popular guide that honestly kind of sucked. The author started with some relatively complex program, and it was terrible for a total beginner that doesn't know how to print 'Hello world'. I don't know why that guide was recommended.

I used to play this competitive game a long time ago. There was a really popular post from a top player that essentially said, "If you're a bronze player, don't take advice from a diamond player. Take advice from a silver player, then when you get a silver, take advice from a gold player." etc.

I don't know anything about music, but I think I can safely assume it would be a dumb idea for a piano beginner to start with Liszt ( youtube.com/watch?v=Tlagfa_GHfQ ) instead of learning how to play an easy arrangement of Fur Elise.

One of my former classmates went to Korea to learn Korean. He's struggling and feels like he's not getting much out of his total immersion. The problem is he barely knew any Korean when he went. I told him he's really lucky to be in Korea and I wish I was in Japan. Just cram as much basic grammar as possible and memorize basic conversational words then practice basic sentences with one of your Korean friends every day.

It's a nice idea to start with something that is useful, interesting, advanced, but I don't think that works in practice. At least, it's inefficient and unnecessarily painful, and particularly a bad idea for a self-learner.