This site is supported by Nobility Studios.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Meditation

1 post in this topic

Posted (edited)

I'm not exactly sure what to say here / where to start. Throughout the lifetime of this thread, it might receive 1000 views. If at least 1 person reads this and I convince them to do this, that would be great.

I think this is relevant here because this is directly about the mind, and meditation does impact learning. It's also an activity you can pursue without a teacher, so unschooling, self-taught and all that. Highly relevant.

I've been taking meditation more seriously for the past few months, by being more consistent and simply having a more serious attitude I guess. I think I first heard about and tried meditation when I was 18 or something, I'm 23 now. I've given it a try on and off. I think the reason why I stopped was because I was skeptical of its efficacy, therefore I wasn't motivated to continue an activity that may have been totally wasting my time. Also laziness.

Why do meditation

There's been a lot of talk about the benefits of meditation in the past decade or so I'd say. And by benefits, I mean quantifiable, measurable, experimentally provable causal effects of undertaking a regular practice. When I tried to look up the opinions of people who are in a position to give an informed, educated opinion about meditation (you really think I'm going to sift through 100s of publications on google scholar especially when I'm not a scientist that understands how to judge rigor and statistical analysis in a field I have no education/training in? lol), it seems that

- the evidence for significant benefits from meditation is very compelling, but not totally 100% without-a-doubt proven yet

- the vast majority of studies being done on meditation are unfortunately, not rigorous

- serious studies have really only begun in the past several years

- different forms of meditation appear to have slightly different effects on subjects